Differences between A and B

In my work, I like some kind of order. (Some might disagree). Anyways, I like to keep for example the design database under control. All the schematics in my ASIC design should be properly named, wires are named neatly, etc. I keep a standard naming convention for my documentation such that I can find them and increment revision, etc.

I have some kind of idea that my world of design, documentation, webpages and data bases, looks like this (Traditional Home Office by Calgary Closet & Home Storage Designers Niche Designs Inc.):

traditional-home-office

Now and then, M.Sc., B.Sc., and Ph.D. students tend to want to work in the same library and design databases as me. It is of course nice that they want to help out and assist us by adding designs, documents, etc., and contribute to the research community and project results. However, I can not help to notice that the database and directory structure tends to look like this afterwards:

karls-office2

Thanks to Jenna Woestman and apologizes for the disrespect of your father’s misfortune. Hope it is OK now…

Cynical? … Yes.

3 thoughts on “Differences between A and B

  1. I think it takes a bit of a while until the students leave their old styles of managing things and they need reminders- and to some extent your reminders worked, did’nt they ? 🙂

  2. I also like order, even though I don’t always manage to keep the order I would like to have. Everyone has their own view on order. The orders of five people, mixed, becomes the chaos you illustrate above. I would say that you have to give explicit instructions to start with – not just “follow my examples, you find them in the files/file system”. Then you have to check in and correct regularly. That’s the only way. By doing so, you communicate that this order thing is important to you.

Leave a Reply

