Top Ten: Other interesting WordPress sites

I’m home with a lumbago, slipped disk, and three children. Not much work done and not much inspiration for a full-fledged IC-related top ten list this time. Instead I did some therapy surfing to check out if there are some similar blogs like this one. And there is … and then I wanted to limit myself to the WordPress site … and then there were less. Actually even less than 10. (Well, I am not claiming I was able to go through all the hits on google and wordpress’ internal search, but yet.)
So, here they are – no particular order -, enjoy some Monday surfing.

  • #10: EDA360 Insider
    Cadence-related blog by Steve Leibson. EDA360 is a, what’s the word…, concept for future integration within the EDA business. A concept of interaction and collaboration between many vendors and industry players is required to meet the future needs for complete systems. (Systems here implying larger scales than system-on-chip). I’ll let you run through the blog – it has quite a few very interesting posts – and follow the link to the vision paper of the EDA at Cadence’ home page to find out more
  • #9: Daniel Nenni’s Silicon Valley Blog
    This blog is since the beginning of January 2011 moved to the Semiwiki blog (thus actually disqualified for this list, but it was so interesting and I have to keep it). Follow the link – the topics are so many, so it does not make sense for me to compile more here than provide you with the link.
  • #8: Math Encounters Blog
    This blog (and the concept) is very pleasant reading for those who like those extra mathematical twists related to different kinds of problems. Of course, some of the equations are related to electrical problems. Enjoy!
  • #7: Afridi Tech – Marching towards Analog CMOS Circuit design
    Ok – a site ”similar” to this one… It illustrates a few design problems and different types of design using Cadence. I suppose it is used as reference material. ”Hey, go to … and check this out. This is what I have designed, does it look like you expect?” But I might be wrong… Mr. Afridi – comment, please 🙂
  • #6: Converter Passion
    So Bengt and I are cross-breeding each other 🙂 Well, I have listed his site before and take a look again. There are some new interesting posts on FOM and other ADC-related things.
  • #5: Circuit Design World
    So actually this one is disqualified also, as it has moved to blogspot instead. So, follow the latter link and enjoy some up-to-date comments on integrated circuit design of different kinds.
  • #4: Analog and Digital IC Design Modesty Blog
    Unfortunately, not much has happened on this blog since last May or April. It has the spirit I’m looking for, but has seized… Some of the posts are a bit short – and to be honest some of the posts are not in English and it is a bit hard to follow 😉 A collaboration blog is mentioned (with a very similar name to my blog): Mixsignal – knowledge is power. Yet a blog bringing forward the same kind of ideas, but quite a few of the posts are empty and I suppose added as discussion bullets for others.
  • #3: Pradeep’s point
    Well, this is such a well-organized blog with a lot of information and I will let you do the reading on your own… It is a general blog overviewing the global semiconductor market, trends, events, etc.
  • #2: Free Electronic Lab
    Oh my oh my! This blog has interesting concept: an opensource EDA software development focus! Wow. There are plenty of interesting posts on free EDA software. It is a must – and yes, I still look for you Master Thesis students that can help me out on some projects I have, wrt. freeware.
  • #1: OpenSourceIC Design
    Yet an opensource blog – but with less activity. A variety of opensource software is discussed.

Did I miss anyone?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten: Other interesting WordPress sites

  1. Hi Dr.J Jacob Wikner ,

    I hope you are doing good.Well I am new to Analog so I thought maybe a blog would be helpful to share my steps towards analog design. I saw your bio in which you mentioned you did Phd from Linköping university.Wondering if you know Dr Rashad Ramzan well known in the RFIC domain.

    I would also like to get your suggestions regarding the field of digitally assisted analog circuits. What areas can I work on in this domain covering the RF area as well?
    Regards
    Afridi

    • Hello Afridi,

      thanks for contributing to the blog! Actually I rejoined the university in 2009 — just after Rashad had presented his thesis. However, his both sons went to the same daycare center, so we met in the hall now and then.

      I think — when it comes to digital assisted analog circuits — one should think of two things: 1) Think big and 2) don’t estimate the system guys. For number (2), quite often, the systems guys have already done a lot of optimization and linearization of the system. This sometimes mean that adding some digitally assisted correction techniques to subblocks could end up in disappointment, as it turns out to be a suboptimization only.

      So, back to (1)… the options here are plenty — I presume you with RF mean a transceiver chain or so. I think some of the challenges here could be the (a) traditional and nontraditional linearization techniques of ADCs/DACs, (b) how to predistort in the baseband and minimizing the additional bandwidth required for linearization of the PA, (c) digital-to-RF converters are kind of interesting (check Jonas Fritzin at Dr Ramzan’s previous group), (d) RF DACs, how to put the DAC on the antenna without any mixers.

      Then if you step back from RF IC there are plenty of other ideas I think … for example regulation loops to be done in digital domain, etc.

      You can also check some of the chapters of Timmy Sundström’s thesis (also Dr Ramzan’s previous group) — he’s been studying reference-free flash ADCs and how these could be corrected for in the digital domain. I.e, use poor analog components and put the effort in the digital domain.

      You could also check some of the Converter Passion discussions on “What’s an ADC?”

      Short post I guess — hope it inspires to some more discussions! Anyone else out there: “What is ‘digitally assisted’ design?”

      • thank you for your comprehensive reply. I am just a bit less interested in ADCs and DAC because i havent worked in that area before and am a bit nervous going into that area which is itself a very vast field in itself today ( do share with me your view if i am wrong), because I am a pure analog RF guy , my previous work experience has been in pure RF domain such as design of mixers, couplers, LNAs etc at discrete component level. Currently when I studied Analog CMOS design , i am very much interested in working in this field now. So i feel more comfortable in working on linearization of PAs rather than ADC or DAC. But i would also like to know what is the future trend because I want to do Phd and it would definitely enhance my application if my background is related to today’s trends in IC designing?

      • Data converters is indeed a vast field… but yet interesting! And in terms of trends, integration of ADC/DACs and pushing as much as possible towards the antenna. Yes, people have been saying this for a long time, but yet this is the case. Another obvious “trend” is also to integrate all the components into a single chip, causing a lot of considerations w.r.t. RF design. So, if you can master those things it is beneficial too (how many inductors can you integrate on a chip and how do you feed high-frequency signals across the SOC between different RF macros to maintain e.g. timing between them).

        However, I do not think you should be worried about future career as RF is still very interesting. As we push things closer to the antenna and frequencies go up, the skills of the RF designer will be sought after.

Leave a Reply

